The battle for desktop supremacy has been decided

Yes, indeed, it took a while but I decided that I really do prefer Gnome..perhaps because it was included in my very first Linux distro (Debian); I don't know. Perhaps it is that KDE feels just a bit too much like you-know-who for my comfort..and Xfce is nice, but it seems rather like a stripped-down version of Gnome to me…I know, I could just say forget the desktop..but no, I like my eyecandy and that is that….What I do know is that, at least for the time being, I am content with Linux Mint. Now, when I can get my hands on PCLinuxOS Gnome remaster, it might be a different story…

4 thoughts on “The battle for desktop supremacy has been decided

  1. Perhaps it is that KDE feels just a bit too much like you-know-who for my comfort..

    :eek:I know you've chosen something other than KDE but there's no need to be insulting!(;))

  2. The thing that reminds you of the blue screen of death, is the reason I use KDE. The memory of worrying if this second will be my last before the next crash, keeps me on my toes, and is a constant reminder why W$ is the second partition on my drive and it hasn't been accessed in a long time. I actually like the look of Gnome better and it is more useful in some ways. But before all things, I am a console programmer, and from there, they both look the same 🙂

  3. LOL Paulmohr..that you keep KDE in anticipation of the next crash?? lol that's madness!But I suppose they do all look the same to a programmer lol…It's only been (wait lemme see..) ah yes, one month yesterday that I switched to Linux! Since then, I have tried about a dozen distros, crashed most of them learning by trial and error and learning quite a bit…Hopefully someday I will be a Guru (with a capital G)

  4. Grant! lol, I thought that might get your attention, you and your Mandriva-lovin inner badger! (who by the way is almost as cute as you!) 😀

Leave a Reply

