Mojave Experiment (courtesy of Windows Vista)

Okay, seriously, what is up with these Windows Vista commercials??  Everyone I know says, “Gee, I wish I could go back to XP”  Of course, when Windows XP came out, everyone I knew was saying how much they hated XP…So I guess Microsoft is getting worse with every edition.  So, their solution?  According to the quite amusing Mac commercials, the Microsoft solution is to sink all their money into advertising and none whatsoever into the fixing of Windows Vista.  Now, while (of course) Windows advocates are “outraged” over these claims by Mac, the simple fact is that they may not be wrong.

For there, on the telly, many more times than I would like to see it..commercials about the “Mojave Experiment” where they show “real people” exclaiming their wonder and delight over the ability to make panoramic pictures.  ARE YOU KIDDING ME??  Microsoft is spending hundreds of thousands of dollars to have people extoll the virtues of panoramic pictures???  Did the majority of these users know what panoramic meant before they tried out this super-great-awesome feature???  Seriously, trying to use panoramic picture making (which is likely available on an image manipulation program) to sell a joke of an operating system like Vista is tantamount to trying to sell cars by going on and on about how great the color is!!

For that matter, who are these people you see on the commercials saying how awesome Vista is for being able to make a panoramic picture??  I really, really hope that these people were just commenting on the panoramic pics themselves, not on Vista’s ability to come up with them.  If I was on that commercial I would sue.  But, in the sad chance that these people were really converted to Vista because of this one ability..think about this…How many times do you need to take a panoramic picture in your life??  10?  Maybe?  I mean, come on…if you are converting to an operating system that was thrown together by a bunch of 10 year olds on crack, then maybe you are just too stupid to own a computer.  Sometimes I wonder…panoramic pictures.  Ye Gods, what a waste of money that could better be spent on something productive, like making Vista not suck.

A real operating system is one that…well, OPERATES!!  I find it sad that Microsoft would try to appeal to people purely on aesthetics and not quality.  Those Mac commercials are on to something.  Face it, Windows Vista is like Computers for Dummies.  If you have computer knowledge, put it to good use..like Linux, Mac, UNIX or BSD

Blogged with the Flock Browser
3 thoughts on “Mojave Experiment (courtesy of Windows Vista)

  1. “Of course, when Windows XP came out, everyone I knew was saying how much they hated XP”

    In my travels on Digg I have heard this argument used many times as a defence against the Vista Haters, and it’s just as wrong-headed here as it is there. While I suspect a few people found the switch to XP uncomfortable it is my experience that XP was an absolute godsend, coming as I did from the frankensteinian monster that was Windows ME. XP represented a quantum leap ahead in stability and user-friendliness, practically eliminating the BSOD entirely through the addition of the business class NT core, and was welcomed with open arms by not just me but many of my friends at the time. To claim that Vista is just the same but is being deliberately misrepresented is insulting to those of us with genuine reasons to hate the step backwards for the consumer that Vista represents.

    Bad girl. Bad. Don’t do it again.

    Mojave, on the other hand, is proof – if more were needed – that there is indeed a sucker born every minute, thank you Mr Barnum. It’s no wonder, then, that Windows 7 will merely be Vista-with-bits-on (although I concede that the reduced memory requirements eliminate one of my major reasons for despising Vista).

  2. Heh. I can get quite uppity now and again, can’t I?. Just ignore me when I do that, unless I’m making a fantastic point in which case I should be shown the appropriate amount of worship. 🙂

    I’m quite curious about Windows 7, so much so I’m actually holding off buying a new system until it’s released, likely this coming June. Early reports are indeed saying the MS engineers have managed to significantly reduce the RAM needed to run the thing simply by decreasing the amount of visual memory held in RAM- one window instead of EVERY window, for instance. Hopefully it won’t preload all your applications, too, as to me that seems just a completely stupid idea. They claim to have W7 running smoothly on systems with as little as 1Gb of ram – Vista has serious trouble being cramped into that *ahem* ‘tiny’ space. (Linux FTW!)

    Of course, I’d love to be able to avoid buying an MS OS altogether but this is practically impossible to achieve if you are an avid gamer, as I am. (Don’t worry, I’ll still keep slowly learning Linux). I didn’t buy Vista, though, which is one in the eye for all those claiming the inevitability of doing so (You listening, Paul Thurrott?) And if I have to buy one I may as well get an OEM version with a new system so MS doesn’t get as much cash for it from me. Heh.

  3. seriously doubt win7 will run as well on same ram as winV.
    but various hardware related stuff should be better, especially after vista lifecycles out.
    as for xp being hated, usually the SE or sp1 (or sp2) fixes windows OS. (winMe never had a sp2. plus it was doomed by being semi-abortware.)

    pretty much the same with macs, from what i’ve read.

    imo… 🙂

Leave a Reply

