My No-Poo Journey Part 3

Okay in parts one and two, to recap, I described the process of ditching chemical processes that contain ingredients that are undesirable or downright harmful to the human body and the environment.  I listed a few things that I had tried on my no-poo exploration.  In this, the final entry, I will talk about shampoo bars and my experience with them as well as summarize my thoughts on the no-poo movement.

So, to continue: Shampoo bars are the latest thing I have tried.  I thought, hey this is great, I can travel with them much easier than with liquid.  So convenient!  First, I tried J.R. Liggett’s shampoo bars which have been around for many, many years.

Original style but there are several types: Jojoba, tea tree, peppermint, argan oil etc

I got the variety travel pack and used the peppermint one, as I greatly enjoy Dr. Bronner’s Peppermint Liquid Castile soap for a million things, including handwashing, laundry, house cleaning etc.  However, the next day, I broke out so bad my entire face looked very much like it did on my 15th birthday.  Not cool.  So I tossed those.  Next, I heard about a company that has literally changed the entire way I take care of myself beauty-wise.

Chagrin Valley Soap and Salve Company

This little family owned business in Ohio has literally changed my life.  They sell 100% all natural soaps, shampoo bars, salves, body butters, oils, candles, deodorants and more.  All the ingredients that Chagrin Valley Soap and Salve Company uses are the finest organic ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible.  They sell sample sizes of many things, including all soaps and shampoo bars so trying out all of them can be extremely fun.  I placed an order and tried out a few different shampoo bars.  So far, my hair’s favorites have been Herb Garden, Mud and Clay and Soapnuts and Lavender.  I have an order in now for more clay based bars since my hair seems to really like dirt for some reason (figures)  My last order, I mentioned in their order comments section how much I loved their products and they sent me samples of a new clay-based deodorant that smells amazing and a lip balm, 2 things I was already wanting to try.  Their shipping is cheap and everything comes packed in environmentally friendly packaging.  They also have gift packs, men’s accessories and even outdoor/camping soap and bug repelling oils.  My experience with shampoo bars has mostly been positive.  The only negative, for me at least, is that I have the worst hard water on the planet, so it’s very difficult to get a clean rinse of the shampoo bars.  I require an extra step: back to the apple cider vinegar that I hate ugh.  I’ve tried lemon juice as a substitute for the ACV and that has worked reasonably well (although I think the ACV does a better job) so I’m doing that at the moment.

One thing I still haven’t tried is the aloe and coconut milk DIY solution that I have seen on the interwebs.  I did try a coconut milk shampoo bar that seemed to dry out my hair horribly though, so I doubt I’ll try that anytime soon.  Always in search of new solutions but sometimes, I’ll admit I miss the convenience of regular old shampoo and conditioner..although not enough to go back to my hair falling out and being a frizzy afro 😀  If any of you have any no-poo solutions that you particularly love or hate, drop them in the comments (no links or you may end up in spamville) and we can carry on the discussion.

Almost forgot to mention: one of the soaps I tried that seems to work the best for me as far as body and face is called Kiss My Face (brand) olive oil soap (chamomile or lavender) that I buy at the local health food store or at Meijer.  Along with the Squalane Face and Eye whipped mousse from Chagrin Valley and people are actually telling me I have nice skin, something I literally have NEVER heard in my life.

Leave a Reply

